Two Truths and A Lie

Writing challenge

Victoria Ponte

--

fake news

Ann Litts just tagged me in her writing challenge to come up with three stories about myself asking readers to guess which of the three is a complete fabrication. The challenge was started by Mary McGrath.

The rules: Below are three scenarios. Two of them are true, and one of them is false. Post which story you think is false in the chat, and then invite five writers to play along. Please tag me too — I want to see what you all come up with!

  1. I gave birth in the usual way while I was hemiplegic. The left side of my body was completely paralyzed by a severe stroke in the 26th week of pregnancy when I was 35. I went into labor at 34 weeks and delivered a healthy, 5 lb. 6 oz. baby boy and avoided the C- section the doctors were planning.
  2. I was a finalist in women’s downhill racing at the 1980 Lake Placid Winter Olympics when I was only 16. During one of the final races as I was flying downhill at 80 mph, the athlete from Russia stuck a pole in front of me causing me to wipe out and broke 40 bones in my body. We were both disqualified, and I was left with a permanent disability. The story was overshadowed by the Miracle on Ice whereby the US Hockey Team beat the Soviets.
  3. I was floating in a wheelchair in the Indian Ocean in Mombasa when a rogue wave washed in and flipped the chair…

--

--