My photo

Digitized

The World Becomes More Unreal

Victoria Ponte
1 min readDec 16, 2020

--

I snapped the photo at the farm and immediately thought technology could improve it. After I enhanced it with my phone, I posted it on Facebook where friends commented it looked like an oil painting and like it wasn’t real.

The comments were almost immediate. I was amazed by how many people seem to be sitting around looking at Facebook. It is a convenient way to get a sense of being connected to people we are trying to actually not go near because of COVID.

I started getting Facebook instant messages from Victor, a recently added Facebook friend. I have not seen him since we were in fifth grade. We are now 57.

It was curious that he reached out. He was just saying hello and telling me he remembered me from fifth grade. I gathered from his profile that he is married so my suspicion he might be stalking me for a date seemed unfounded.

We chatted about nothing for a few minutes where I learned he lives in the next town. I felt like this kind of random connection is becoming more normal and preferred over in person contact.

We are living in a digitized world.

--

--